In December 1958 a group of dedicated Scientists working in Nigeria met in Ibadan at an inaugural business meeting during which the Science Association of Nigeria was born.Over the last fifty-eight years many more scientists in Nigeria have joined this association with specific purpose of making their contributions, however, small, to scientific and technological development of this country. The Science Association of Nigeria, popularly known amongst Nigerian Scientists as SAN has made considerable impact on the growth of Nigeria’s scientific space. It has stimulated the growth of many other scientific organizations. SAN was the major scientific organization consulted by UNESCO expert when setting up the platform for science policy in Nigeria.

The Association is the umbrella body for all science based Associations in Nigeria. SAN is an independent scientific Association in Nigeria, dedicated to promoting excellence in science. One of the major activities of SAN is the annual Conference. The annual conference is host by different public, private institutions of higher learning and research institutes holds at different locations across the nation. The conference avails scientists both at local and international level the opportunity to interact, network, present papers and share ideas on recent issues of interest in the scientific clime. Communique of such meetings are published in the national dailies. Also, Proceedings of the meetings and published as refereed SAN Bulletin after rigorous peer review mechanism.

Nigerian Journal of Science (NJS), is the foremost peer review scientific journal in the country is published by the Science Association of Nigeria. The journal is international in its coverage of reports and circulation. The NJS offer a first-class level of author service, high production values and worldwide dissemination in well-read and highly-cited journals. The NJS was launched as an independent journal since SAN was established. It is a primarily, peer-reviewed journal that publishes high-quality articles and reviews  from all discipline in sciences. The scope of NJS is vast – publishing high-quality research in any area of the biological, chemical, earth and mathematical sciences. Articles submitted to NJS  benefit from its broad scope and readership, dedicated online promotion. Details can be obtained from the journal link.

The SAN Council is the highest governing body


(a) Hon. Offices of SAN

Prof. (Mrs) M.T. Bakare-Odunola,  FSAN     –         President (Chairman)

Dr A.A.Ogunjobi                                          –         Vice-President

Dr O.A. Dada                                             –         Hon. Secretary

Dr Biodun Claudius Cole                           –         Hon. Treasurer

Prof. F.O.Owa, FSAN                                –         Immediate Past President

(b) Elected Ordinary Members

Dr J.S. Ashidi                                           –          2016 -2018

Dr H. A. Sanuth                                       –          2016 -2018

Dr H. Abba                                              –          2016 -2018

Dr (Mrs) M. Aminu – Mukhtar                 –          2016 -2018

Prof. B.L. Adeleke, FSAN                     –          2016 -2018

Dr Serifat Wakil                                    –          2016 -2018    

Prof. A.C. Odebode                             –          2015 -2017

c) Representatives of Sections

Prof. A. Mallam                                  –         Physics

Dr Omobola A. Odunbaku                 –          Botany

Dr Folake T. Afolabi                          –          Microbiology

Prof. U. A. Osunkwo                          –         Medical Science.

Prof. F.O. Ogunfiditimi                      –         Mathematics.            

Prof. Rachael Toyosi Idowu               –         Zoology

Dr Nwosu                                           –         Chemistry

Vaccant                                               –         Biochemistry

Vaccant                                               –         Engineering

Vaccant                                               –            Earth Science

(d) Officers Appointed by Council

Prof. I. Fawole, FSAN                        –        Chairman, Editorial Advisory Committee

Prof. M. Momoh, FSAN                     –        Chairman, Honours and Awards Committee

Prof.O.E.Fagade, FSAN                     –        Editor, NJS

Prof. A.O. Togun, FSAN                    –        Chairman, Popularization of Science Committee

Prof. I.A. Amoo                                  –        Chairman, Chairman, Project and Conference Committee

Dr K. Rauf                                          –         1st Assistant Secretary

Prof. F.W. Abdulrahman                    –          Chairperson, Abuja LOC

Dr S.O. Olanrewaju                            –         Secretary, Abuja LOC

Dr S.S. Muchunga-Mambula             –          Member, Abuja LOC

Prof. M. S. Ayodele                            –          Editor, SAN Buletin.